top of page
  • Writer's pictureLynne Kornecki

Fox Valley Arts Hall of Fame 2022 Inductees Announced Friday, October 14 at Batavia Public Library

Fox Valley Arts Hall of Fame (FVAHF) Board president, Susan Starritt, welcomed guests attending the announcement of the five artists to be inducted into the Class of 2022. Banquet celebration will be held March 31, 2023 at Villa Olivia, 1401 W. Lake Street, Bartlett, IL.

The non-profit Fox Valley Arts Hall of Fame recognizes artists associated with the Fox Valley by birth, education, residence or service, who have achieved international or national acclaim. Candidates should have completed 20 years in their professional field and received recognition for excellence. The honor is for living artists or can be awarded posthumously.

The five members of the 2022 Class are: Joseph Morton (Mort) Luby, PAINTER from Carpentersville; along with the following posthumous recipients: Lucille and Sten Halfvarson, MUSIC; Olive Beaupré Miller, WRITER; Charles Pierce Burton, WRITER.

By spotlighting outstanding individuals in all the arts, it is believed their achievement can motivate, inspire and encourage others to do the same. Arts participation, either by students or adults, not only benefits individuals in numerous, lifelong ways but also enhances communities at large

"Arts help you process emotions and better understand your surroundings," Board president Susan Starritt stated. "Engaging in the arts helps with problem solving, improves communication and develops critical thinking skills. Statistics show that students participating in the arts achieve higher scores on standardized tests and have better GPAs."

Susan's daughter, Susie Starritt, heads the selection committee and announced the Class of 2022 from the podium. Before stepping forward, her mother, Susan, emphasized that the Board president is not part of the candidate review nor the selection process.

The 2020 banquet was postponed because of the Covid-19 pandemic. As a result, both the 2020 and 2022 FVAHF classes will be inducted at the banquet celebration on March 31, 2023, at Villa Olivia, 1401 W. Lake Street in Bartlett, IL.

The previously announced 2020 inductees are Patrick F. Beckman, music and Kevin Braheny Fortune, music, from Elgin, IL; Vincent S. Chiaramonte, portraitist and Jeffrey Hunt, music, from Saint Charles, IL; and Joel C. Sheesley, painter, from Wheaton, IL.

For more information: Fox Valley Arts Hall of Fame

Inductees receive public recognition with a plaque outlining their achievements placed in The Hemmens Cultural Center in Elgin, IL and this medallion.

Left to Right: Susie Starrett, FVAHF board, Dr. Thomas G. Brooks, (Burton nominator); Susan Starrett, FVAHF board; Mary Clark Ormond, (Miller nominator); Donald Haefliger, (Luby nominator); Nancy Hopp, (Halfvarsons nominator).

Learn more Learn more Fine Line Creative Arts Center |



bottom of page